Fourth phase of Bihar polls begins

November 1st, 2010 - 8:47 am ICT by IANS  

Patna, Nov 1 (IANS) The fourth phase of Bihar assembly elections to pick a 243-member house began Monday in 42 constituencies across eight districts amid tight security.

About 10.4 million voters are eligible to decide the electoral fate of 568 candidates. Polling will take place in 10,716 centres.

The eight districts going to the polls are Begusarai, Lakhisarai, Bhagalpur, Khagaria, Munger, Banka, Jamui and Patna.

Polling, which began at 7 a.m., is scheduled to go on till 5 p.m., except in some Maoist-affected constituencies where it will end at 3 p.m.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |