Former MPs still occupy government houses

October 30th, 2011 - 4:38 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party New Delhi, Oct 30 (IANS) Despite losing their entitlement, eight former MPs, including Jagdish Tytler and Ajay Singh Chautala, continue to occupy posh government accommodation, a Right to Information (RTI) reply revealed Sunday. YSR Congress chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy also figures in the list as it covers the period he quit as a Congress MP and was re-elected.

The response was from the directorate of estates of the ministry of urban development to the RTI application by activist Subhash Chandra Agrawal.

The rest of the defaulting MPs are Ram Deo Bhandari, Gireesh Kumar Sanghi, Sangita Kumari Singhdeo, G. Venkat Swamy, Devvrat Singh and late Krishan Lal Balmiki.

Valmiki’s family continues to stay in the house allotted to him.

“The government should take stringent steps against unauthorized occupants of government accommodations. Any person occupying government accommodation unauthorizedly or defaulting on government dues should not be allowed to contest elections,” Agrawal said.

Former Lok Sabha member of Indian National Lok Dal Chautala and former Congress MP Sanghi, do not have any dues against them.

The standing dues for the rest are:

* G. Venkat Swamy (Congress)- Rs.29.4 lakh

* Jagdish Tytler (Congress) - Rs.19.1 lakh

* Sangita Kumari Singhdeo (Bharatiya Janata Party)- Rs. 7.39 lakh

* Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy (Congress) - Rs.3 lakh

* Devvrat Singh (Congress) - Rs 1.74 lakh

* Ram Deo Bhandari (Rashtriya Janata Dal) - Rs.43,416.

* Krishan Lal Balmiki (Bharatiya Janata Party) - Rs.1.83 lakh.

The ministry has taken action against Tytler, whose name has been a regular in the list.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |