Elections for three new Delhi mayors from April 30

April 24th, 2012 - 7:21 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, April 24 (IANS) Elections for three mayors for the newly-trifurcated Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) will be held from April 30, a statement from the civic agency said Tuesday.

“The elections of the North Delhi Corporation will be held at the civic centre April 30, the next day the East Delhi Corporation will hold the mayor election at Udyog Sadan in Patparganj. South Delhi Corporation will conduct the elections on May 2 at civic centre at Vivekanand Marg in the heart of the capital,” the statement said.

Apart from mayors, the elections will be held for the post of deputy mayors and six standing committee members.

“Nominations for all these posts can be filed till April 26 in the office of municipal secretary of the respective corporation. Name can be withdrawn any time before commencement of the elections for the respective post,” the statement added.

The BJP won in 138 of the 272 wards in the three newly-created municipal corporations of Delhi while the Congress secured victory in 77 wards. The BJP’s tally was 26 seats lower than 2007 when it had won 164 seats, while the Congress tally went up from 64 to 77 seats.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |