DMK keeps Chennai, surrounding constituencies for itself

March 29th, 2009 - 9:57 pm ICT by IANS  

P. Chidambaram Chennai, March 29 (IANS) Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi Sunday announced the constituencies allocated to the constituents of the ruling DMK-led United Progressive Alliance allies.
The three constituencies in state capital Chennai, its neighbouring Sriperumbudur and Arakkonam besides Madurai are included in the DMK’s share of 21 seats while the Congress has been given 16 including neighbouring Union Territory of Puducherry, Mayiladuthurai and Sivaganga, Karunanidhi told reporters.

The other allies - VCK and Indian Union Muslim League - have been allotted two seats - Chidambaram and Villupuram and one in Vellore respectively, the chief minister added.

According to DMK sources, sitting MP and former central government minister Dayanidhi Maran and Karunanidhi’s elder son Azhagiri may contest from Chennai and Madurai.

Central ministers P. Chidambaram and Mani Shankar Aiyar, elected from Sivaganga and Mayiladuthurai respectively in 2004, are expected to contest again from their seats, Congress sources said.

With Sunday’s announcement, it is clear that all the 39 seats from Tamil Nadu and the solitary seat from Puducherry may witness multi-cornered contests featuring four main groups of candidates led by the DMK, AIADMK, the NDA and DMDK.

Meanwhile, actor-turned-politician Vijaykanth announced his third list of DMDK Sunday, taking the total of his party’s candidates to 23 so far.

Related Stories

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Posted in Politics |