DMK appoints Vijayan its leaders in Lok Sabha

May 25th, 2009 - 3:08 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, May 25 (IANS) With the DMK’s issues regarding joining the United Progressive Aalliance (UPA) government nearly resolved, the party announced here Monday that A.K.S. Vijayan will be the leader of its parliamentary party in the Lok Sabha.
The party’s organising secretary and first time MP T.K.S. Elangovan has been made the chief whip while E.G. Sugavanam is the deputy whip. The party also appointed Adi Shankar and Venugopal secretary and treasurer respectively.

Soon after the elections, the party had announced T.R. Baalu as the parliamentary party leader for both the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Meanwhile, M.K. Azhagiri, the party’s organising secretary (southern districts) and a Lok Sabha member, left for New Delhi Monday morning to seemingly tie up loose ends in the party’s decision to join the union government.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |