Delhi BJP announces election management committee

July 28th, 2008 - 7:40 pm ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Bharatiya Janata Party

New Delhi, July 28 (IANS) Gearing up for the upcoming assembly polls in Delhi, the Bharatiya Janata Party Monday announced a 60 member election management committee. Senior BJP leader Vijay Kumar Malhotra has been appointed the chairman of the committee. Other senior party leaders including Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Shatrughan Sinha, Kidar Nath Sahani and Vijay Kapoor were appointed advisers and special invited members of the committee.

“We have started an effective strategy for the preparations of the forthcoming assembly and Lok Sabha elections,” BJP’s Delhi chief Harsh Vardhan told reporters.

The announcement regarding an election manifesto committee, election propaganda committee and other committees shall be made soon, Vardhan added.

“The process of selecting candidates for the assembly elections will be started soon and only those people would be given tickets who are committed to the policies and thinking of the BJP and are devoted,” he said.

The main criteria for the selection of the candidates will be the candidate’s capacity to win the election, popularity in the area and their track record.

“We will make atrocities on the people by the Congress, MPs purchased scam, price spiral, terrorism, corruption, sealing, demolition and false assurances of Sheila Dikshit (Delhi chief minister) our main election issues,” he added.

Prominent Delhi BJP leaders like Mayor Arti Mehra, Vijay Goel, Anita Arya, Jagdish Mukhi (leader of opposition in the Delhi legislative assembly), Lal Behari Tiwari, Meera Kanwaria, Subhash Arya and Vijender Gupta are members of the committee.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |