Defeated PDP candidate in fray from Kashmir

April 6th, 2009 - 9:36 pm ICT by IANS  

Srinagar, April 6 (IANS) The opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Jammu and Kashmir Monday declared its candidates for two parliamentary constituencies in the valley.
The PDP candidates include Mohammed Dilawar Mir for north Kashmir Baramulla constituency. Mir, a former minister, lost the November-December assembly elections from Rafiabad constituency of Baramulla district.

Peer Mohammed Hussain, also a former minister, is the party’s candidate from south Kashmir Anantnag seat, which PDP president Mehbooba Mufti had won in 2004.

Mehbooba Mufti cleared their names for the two constituencies after a three-day hectic deliberation among party leaders, a PDP spokesman said.

The PDP is contesting all the six parliament seats in the state.

PDP candidate from Srinagar Lok Sabha seat and its nominees for by-polls to two assembly seats of Sonawar and Hazratbal, to be held simultaneously with general elections, would be announced separately.

Abdul Rashid Shaheen of the National Conference represented the north Kashmir Baramulla constituency, which will go to the polls in the final phase May 13. Voting in Anantnag will be held in the third phase April 30. Srinagar will vote in the fourth phase May 7.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |