Debra Bowen Continues To Be The California Secratary Of State

November 3rd, 2010 - 6:58 pm ICT by GD  

By Meena Kar
debraNov 3, (THAINDIAN NEWS) Democrat Debra Bowen has once again been elected as the Secretary of State. She defeated Republican Damon Dunn in the election for California Secretary of state. She defeated the Republican with a margin of 52.6 percent to 39 percent.

Debra Bowen was first elected as the California Secretary Of State in 2006, when she defeated yet another Republican Bruce McPherson of Santa Cruz. He was appointed for that post by the governor. This time however, her victory was quite predictable as Republican Damon Dunn is a new comer and for the first time he stood as a competitor for this particular office. Damon Dunn, who is just 34 years old has never been voted until a special statewide election last year. He has been a former NFL champion and completely new in the world of Politics. Debra Bowen, will be once again in charge of the state’s elections, voting systems and campaign finance information. She has been holding this office since January 8, 2007, preceded by Bruce McPherson. From 1992 till 2006, she has been a member of the California State Legislature.

The election of California Secretary of state was also contended by four other candidates namely Merton D. Short, who got 1.7% votes, Ann Menasche, who got 2.8% votes, Christina Tobin, who got 2.2% votes and Marylou Cabral, who got 1.6% votes. Debra Bowen won with a whopping 3,217,500, which counted to 52.6%, followed by Damon Dunn, who bagged 2,392,336 votes, which is about 39.1%. Democrat John Chiang has been voted as the controller of the state. Democrat Gavin Newsom has been voted as the Lieutenant Governor of California, Democrat Bill Lockyer is the new treasurer and Democrat Kamala D. Harris is the new Attorney General of California as par the General election In California.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |