CPI-M’s Jharna Das elected to Rajya Sabha

March 19th, 2010 - 5:30 pm ICT by IANS  

Agartala, March 19 (IANS) Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) led-Left Front nominee Jharna Das (Baidya) was Friday elected to the Rajya Sabha unopposed.
“As 50-year-old Das was the only candidate for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Tripura, I declared her elected,” returning officer and Tripura assembly secretary Sukhomoy Lodh told IANS.

The Congress did not file any candidate. “As there was no possibility of winning, we did not field any nominee,” state Congress chief Surajeet Datta told IANS.

Das, chairperson of the Tripura State Social Welfare Board, is the second woman from the state to be elected to the Rajya Sabha since 1952.

In 1980, Ela Bhattacharjee, mother-in-law of Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, was elected to the Rajya Sabha.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |