Congress wins legislative council seat from Agra

May 2nd, 2008 - 2:17 pm ICT by admin  

Agra, May 2 (IANS) Vivek Bansal of the Congress has won the Agra graduate constituency for the Uttar Pradesh legislative council. The results of the election were declared Thursday evening. Bansal, who hails from Aligarh, snatched the seat from Har Nath Singh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party who was hoping for a hat trick. Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Gyan Prakash Gupta came third.

Bansal defeated Yadav by a margin of 1,955 votes. There were 27 candidates in the fray.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |