Congress to release UP manifesto at 10 centres

January 30th, 2012 - 8:39 pm ICT by IANS  

Sushil Kumar New Delhi, Jan 30 (IANS) The Congress Party will release its manifesto for the Uttar Pradesh assembly polls at state capital Lucknow and nine other major towns simultaneously Tuesday, party leader Mohan Prakash said here Monday.

“It is an effort to reach more people in the country’s most populous state in a diversified manner,” Prakash told IANS.

Besides Lucknow, the manifesto will be released at Allahabad, Varanasi, Agra, Gorakhpur, Kanpur, Shajahanpur, Saharanpur, Jhansi and Bareilly, he said.

Prakash told reporters that central leaders, including Digvijay Singh, Janardhan Dwivedi, Sheila Dikshit, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Ambika Soni, Amarinder Singh, Jairam Ramesh and Ghulam Nabi Azad and Prime Minister’s Advisor on Innovation Sam Pitroda, will attend the functions.

State leaders, including Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Pramod Tiwari, Shriprakash Jaiswal, Jitin Prasada, Rashid Masood and P.L. Punia will also attend the release functions.

However, party general secretary Rahul Gandhi will not attend any of the functions, Prakash said.

Gandhi will be continuing his poll campaign in the Sitapur-Barabanki districts, Prakash added.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |