Congress releases list of six for Chhattisgarh

March 9th, 2009 - 11:42 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 9 (IANS) The Congress party Monday released a list of six candidates for Chhattisgarh for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, including four for reserved constituencies.
The list includes candidates for three seats reserved for the Scheduled Tribes and one for the Scheduled Castes.

Sitting MP Devrat Singh has been given the ticket for Rajnandgaon constituency.

The party has nominated Bhanu Pratap Singh to contest from Surguja constituency and Shiv Kumar Dehariya from Janjgir. Charan Das Mahant has been given the party ticket for Korba.

Shankar Singh Sodi and Phulo Devi Netam would be contesting from Bastar and Kanker respectively.

Chhattisgarh, which has 11 parliamentary constituencies, would go to polls April 16. Results would be declared May 16.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |