Congress releases 14 names for Tamil Nadu (Lead)

April 16th, 2009 - 7:55 pm ICT by IANS  

Mani Shankar Aiyar Chennai, April 16 (IANS) The Congress Thursday re-nominated union ministers Mani Shankar Aiyar and P. Chidambaram for Mayladuthurai and Sivaganga seats respectively from Tamil Nadu. The party released its list of nominees for 14 constituencies in the state.
The Congress, as a part of ruling DMK-led alliance, is contesting 15 of the state’s 39 Lok Sabha seats. The party is yet to name its nominee for the Kanchipuram seat.

Besides Aiyar and Chidambaram, state Congress chief K.V. Thangkabalu will contest from Salem while union minister E.V.K.S. Elangovan has been moved to Erode. Most of the sitting MPs have been re-nominated.

All India Congress Committee general secretary V. Narayanaswamy will contest from Puducherry.

Member of the outgoing Lok Sabha S.K. Kharventhan has been nominated to contest from the hosiery town Tirupur.

Kharventhan had raised 377 issues under Rule 377 drawing the attention of the government and the public. He asked a total of 1,200 questions during the five-year term and took part in 187 debates.

Tamil Nadu and Puducherry will go to polls in the last phase of elections May 13.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |