Congress names 16 Lok Sabha candidates from Kerala

March 20th, 2009 - 12:56 am ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 19 (IANS) Eminent writer and former UN official Shashi Tharoor was named by the Congress in its list of 16 candidates who would contest the Lok Sabha polls from Kerala.
As anticipated earlier, Tharoor would be contesting on the Congress party ticket from Thiruvananphapuram.

The other candidates the Congress has decided to field from Kerala are: S. Usman from Kasargod, K. Sudhadharan from Kannur, M.I. Shanavas from Wayanad, M.K. Raghavan from Kozhikode, Satheesan Pacheni from Palakkad, M.K. Sudhir from Alathur, P.C. Chacko from Thrissur, K.P. Dhanapalan from Chalakudy, K.V. Thomas from Ernakulam, P.P. Thomas from Idukki, K.C. Venugopal from Alapuzha, Kodikunnil Suresh from Mavelikkara, Anto Antony from Pathanamthitta, Pitambara Kurup from Kollam and G. Balachandran from Attingal.

The Congress would announce the candidate for Vadakara seat later. The Lok Sabha polls will be conducted in Kerala April 16.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |