Congress names 11 candidates for Rajya Sabha

March 13th, 2008 - 9:26 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, March 13 (IANS) The Congress party Thursday announced its list of 11 candidates for the forthcoming Rajya Sabha elections. The list includes four union ministers and two former chief ministers. T. Subbirami Reddy (minister of state for mines) from Andhra Pradesh; Prithviraj Chavan (minister of state in the prime minister’s office) and Murli Deora (minister for petroleum and natural gas) from Maharashtra; and G.K. Vasan (minister of state with independent charge for statistics and programme implementation) from Tamil Nadu have been given the party tickets.

The Rajya Sabha polls will be held March 26.

Congress treasurer Motilal Vohra has been given the ticket from Chhattisgarh while Nandi Yellaiah will contest from Andhra Pradesh.

Mukut Mithi, who resigned as lieutenant governor of Pudducherry, will be in the fray from his home state Arunachal Pradesh. Reishang Keishing has been given the ticket from Manipur. Both these leaders are former chief ministers of their states.

Chaudhary Ram Prakash (Haryana), Bhubaneshwar Kalita (Assam) and R.C. Kuntia (Orissa) are the other Congress candidates in the fray.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |