Congress-DMK win 8 seats in Tamil Nadu, leading on 18 (Second Lead)

May 16th, 2009 - 6:28 pm ICT by IANS  

P. Chidambaram Chennai, May 16 (IANS) Many of the Congress’ top leaders were trailing in Tamil Nadu though its alliance with the DMK and the VCK had won eight seats and was leading on eighteen. The rival AIADMK front that includes the Left parties, MDMK and PMK was ahead in 12.
Prominent winners from the DMK were Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi’s son M.K. Azhagiri from Madurai and filmstar J.K. Riteesh from Ramanathapuram. Among other DMK candidates, former communications minister and media baron Dayanidhi Maran, and central ministers S.S. Palanimanickam, A. Raja and T.R. Baalu were also leading.

The DMK and the Congress had won four seats each, while the AIADMK and the MDMK had won one each, as per the results declared by 3.30 p.m.

Home Minister P. Chidambaram was finding the going tough in Sivaganga constituency and had demanded a recount after the returning officer declared the AIADMK’s Raja Kannappan as a victor with a margin of around 3,000 votes.

Congress heavyweights like central ministers E.V.K.S. Elangovan and Mani Shankar Aiyar and state unit president K.V. Thangkabalu were trailing.

MDMK leader Vaiko was defeated in Virudhunagar parliamentary constituency, which went to the Congress’ Manik Tagore.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |