Congress ahead in Andhra, first result goes to party (Lead)

May 16th, 2009 - 2:13 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, May 16 (IANS) The Congress was ahead in 26 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, the TDP was leading in 12, the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) in one and the TRS in two, according to counting trends available by noon Saturday. The Congress wrested the Chittoor seat from the TDP.
In the first Lok Sabha result announced for the state, M. Thippeswamy of Congress was declared elected from the Chittoor Lok Sabha seat. He trounced his nearest rival N. Sivaprasad of Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

D.K. Adikeshavulu, who was elected from the constituency in 2004, switched to the Congress party last year.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |