Chief minister’s son in Congress’ Andhra list

March 21st, 2009 - 9:41 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 21 (IANS) Andhra Pradesh chief minister’s son and five union ministers, including Renuka Chowdhary, are in the list of Congress nominees for 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state, as the party Saturday decided to field all its 31 sitting Andhra MPs for the polls.
The party also named its candidates for the 290 assembly seats of the state. The polls will be held simultaneously April 16 and 23.

Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy’s son Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy has been fielded from the Kadapa parliamentary constituency.

“All the 31 sitting MPs, including five union ministers, have been given tickets for the Lok Sabha polls,” said All India Congress Committee secretary Madhu Yaskhi Goud here.

Yaskhi has been renominated from the Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat of the state.

Daggubati Purandeswari, Congress leader, central minister and daughter of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder N.T. Rama Rao, will contest from Visakhapatnam as her Bapatla seat has been reserved in the delimitation process.

Former chief minister and sitting MP from Visakhapatnam N. Janardhan Reddy will be nominated to the Rajya Sabha.

Another central minister Panabaka Lakshmi, whose constituency Nellore has been dereserved, will be in the fray from Bapatla.

Union ministers Renuka Chowdhary and M.M. Pallam Raju have been re-nominated from Khammam and Kakinada respectively.

Urban Development Minister S. Jaipal Reddy, who represented Miryalguda constituency in the 14th Lok Sabha, will contest from Chevella. The Miryalguda seat has been scrapped.

Senior Congress leader V. Kishore Chandra Deo will contest the polls from Araku - a Scheduled Tribe (ST )seat.

He represented Parvathipuram (ST) constituency in the 14th Lok Sabha.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |