Chhattisgarh reshuffles officials

April 14th, 2008 - 10:52 pm ICT by admin  

Raipur, April 14 (IANS) Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh Monday appointed commissioners for the Raipur, Bilaspur, Bastar and Surguja divisions and reshuffled over 15 Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officers. B.L. Agrawal was made commissioner of Raipur division while Ganeshshankar Mishra (Bastar), Shivkumar Tiwari (Bilaspur) and Manoj Pingua (Surguja) were also appointed.

The new appointments were expected as the state’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced March 31 that it would be reintroducing divisional commissioner system in the state that was abolished by the previous Congress government in November 2002.

The government said the division system is aimed at making administration more effective and people-oriented.

Last week, the government sent an ordinance to state Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan for setting up the commissioner system.

The Raipur division will have six districts while Bastar will have five districts under its jurisdiction. The Bilaspur divisional commissioner will look after four districts and Surguja division will have three districts.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |