Campaigning ends for all Haryana, four Punjab seats

May 5th, 2009 - 8:52 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Chandigarh, May 5 (IANS) Campaigning for all 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana and four seats in Punjab ended Tuesday evening with top leaders from leading parties trying to woo the electorate on the last day of electioneering.
Voting for these seats will be held May 7.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Navin Chawla has already instructed all poll observers and district officials to keep all-night vigil in their respective areas in both states to curb any tendency among candidates or campaigners to distribute liquor and money among voters.

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s prime ministerial candidate L.K. Advani addressed two rallies in Haryana for the BJP-Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) candidates at Rohtak and Karnal.

Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi addressed a rally in Barnala town of the Sangrur parliamentary seat.

The four seats of Punjab that go to polls are Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala and Ferozepur. There are 79 candidates in the fray.

The biggest contest among these seats is in Bathinda where Harsimrat Kaur, wife of Akali Dal president and Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Badal, is pitted against Raninder Singh of the Congress, the son of former chief minister Amarinder Singh.

Both sides organised a series of rallies in the constituency Tuesday.

Over 5.27 million voters are eligible to cast their vote in these four seats. Nearly 27,000 police personnel and 30,000 poll officials will get the polling conducted through 8,400 electronic voting machines (EVMs) in these seats, a spokesman said here.

Punjab’s additional director general of police (elections) S.M. Sharma said that elaborate security arrangements have been made for polling. He said that digital cameras will be used in sensitive booths to record events.

In Haryana, voting for all 10 parliamentary seats will be held Thursday starting at 7 a.m., a spokesman said Tuesday.

The main contest is between the ruling Congress and the INLD-BJP alliance. Key candidates in the fray are former chief minister Bhajan Lal (Haryana Janhit Congress), Ajay Singh Chautala (INLD), industrialist Naveen Jindal (Congress), Deepinder Singh Hooda (Congress) and central ministers Rao Inderjit Singh and Kumari Selja (both Congress).

Chief Secretary Dharam Vir said that there are 210 candidates for the 10 seats, including a record 14 women candidates.

Haryana has over 1.2 crore voters, including 55 lakh women. There are 12,894 polling stations in the state.

Over 62,200 police personnel, including paramilitary forces, will be on election duty while nearly 64,500 polling officials will get the poll process completed, the chief secretary said.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |