BSP scores win after win in Uttar Pradesh by-poll

April 16th, 2008 - 5:03 pm ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Bahujan Samaj Party

Lucknow, April 16 (IANS) The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Wednesday won three assembly by-elections in Uttar Pradesh and was leading in the two Lok Sabha seats of Khalilabad and Azamgarh. In Hardoi district’s Bilgram constituency, the ruling party’s Rajni Tiwari was elected; in Gonda district’s Karnailganj the victor was Kunwari Brij Singh, and in Ghaziabad’s Muradnagar the seat went to Rajpal Tyagi.

The BSP was leading in the two parliamentary by-elections as well. In Khalilabad, Bhishma Shankar seemed set to win. And in Azamgarh, Akbar ‘Dumpy’ Ahmed had the edge.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |