BSP announces candidates for Uttar Pradesh by-polls

March 18th, 2008 - 12:17 am ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Bahujan Samaj Party

Lucknow, Mar 17 (IANS) Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati Monday declared her party’s nominees for the forthcoming byelections in two Lok Sabha and three state assembly constituencies in the state. The polls are slated for the second week of April. While she announced Bhim Shankar Tiwari as the party candidate for Khalilabad parliamentary seat, Akbar Ahmad ‘Dumpy’ was named from Azamgarh constituency in the Lok Sabha by-polls.

For the three state assembly constituencies - Bilgram, Karnailganj and Muradnagar - she announced the names of Rajiv Tiwari, Kunwari Bani Singh and Raj Pal Tyagi respectively as party nominees.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |