BJP names 12 more candidates from Chhattisgarh

October 31st, 2008 - 11:45 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyNew Delhi, Oct 31 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Friday released a second list of 12 candidates for the assembly elections in Chhattisgarh.Prominent among those figuring in the list is Ganeshram Bhagat, one of the senior-most tribal leaders in the state. His name was not included in the first list released 10 days ago, leading to an uproar within the party.

Bhagat has been allotted the Sitapur constituency.

Another controversial leader who has been given a ticket is Sanjay Didhi from Aarng. Many in the BJP did not expect him to get a ticket, especially because he is said to lack clout in the constituency, which he represents in the outgoing assembly.

One of the surprises is Nandkumar Sahu (Raipur North). Party insiders suggest he has been given the ticket because the Sahu community is prominent in the constituency.

The first list, released Oct 21, contained 78 candidates, including Chief Minister Raman Singh and a clutch of his senior ministers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |