BJP leaders elected mayors in five Gujarat cities

June 19th, 2008 - 8:06 pm ICT by IANS  

Ahmedabad, June 18 (IANS) Gujarat’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Thursday swept the mayoral polls, its candidates getting elected as mayors in five cities with virtually no opposition. Balakrushna Shukla is the new mayor of Vadodara and Ranjit Giletwala in Surat. Sandhya Vyas was elected mayor of Rajkot and Reena Shah mayor of Bhavnagar. Kanaksinh Jadeja is the new mayor of Jamnagar.

The names of the mayoral candidates were finalized at the BJP parliamentary board meeing Tuesday. On Thursday senior party leaders reached the municipal corporations with the party mandate in a sealed cover.

The BJP is in power in all the seven municipal corporations of the state.

For Ahmedabad, Mayor Kanaji Thakor was elected in April last while Junagadh mayor Jyotiben Vachhani is yet to complete her term.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |