BJP gaining in Jharkhand

May 16th, 2009 - 12:34 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Ranchi, May 16 (IANS) The early trends of the Lok Sabha vote count Saturday indicated that the BJP was gaining in Jharkhand while JMM and Congress were losing in the state.
Of the 14 seats, the trends were available for nine. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in five.

Three former chief ministers - Babulal Marandi who is president of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P), Arjun Munda of BJP and Madhu Koda (Independent) - were respectively leading from Koderma, Jamshedpur and Singbhum Lok Sabha seats.

Former chief minister and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha chief Shibu Soren was trailing from Dumka.

The two central ministers of the Congress party, Subodh Kant Sahay and Rameshwar Oraon, were trailing from Ranchi and Lohardagga seats.

Another independent candidate and former assembly speaker Inder Singh Namdhari, who was indirectly supported by the BJP, was leading from Chatra Lok Sabha seat.

–Indo-Asian news Service


Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |