BJP expels seven rebel councillors

April 2nd, 2012 - 10:02 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party New Delhi, April 2 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Monday expelled seven rebel councillors for six years for filing nomination against party candidates in the April 15 Municipal Corporation of Delhi polls.

“We have expelled seven sitting councillors for gross indiscipline. No indiscipline will be tolerated by those who don’t fall in line,” said Delhi BJP chief Vijender Gupta.

The expelled councillors are Sudesh Kumar Bhasin, Prabha Singh, Rakesh Yadav, Praveen Rajput, Jagdish Mamgain and Harish Awasthi.

The seventh, Jagdish Mamgain, said he had already resigned from the BJP.

“How can they expel me when I have already resigned from the party? I neither filed nomination against the party candidate nor did I campaign against the party,” Mamgain said.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |