BJP ahead in Gujarat with 15 seats (Lead)

May 16th, 2009 - 4:52 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Gandhinagar, May 16 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 15 of Gujarat’s 26 Lok Sabha seats while the Congress had got eight as the final round of counting began Saturday afternoon.
Among the BJP winners were Kirit Solanki in Ahmedabad West, C.R. Patil in Navsari, Dinubhai Solanki in Junagadh and Jayashree Patel in Mehsana.

The biggest loss for the Congress was union minister Shankarsinh Vaghela’s defeat to the BJP’s Prabhatsinh Chauhan in Panchmahals.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |