BJP ahead in 12 constituencies in Karnataka

May 16th, 2009 - 11:34 am ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Bangalore, May 16 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in 12 of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka, while the Congress was ahead in four and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) in three.
One-and-a-half hours into counting at 9.30 a.m., the BJP was way ahead of the Congress and the JD-S in Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur (SC), Gulbarga (SC), Raichur (ST), Haveri, Dharwad, Uttar Kannada, Dakshina Kannada, Shimoga, Chitradurga (SC), Mysore, Bellary (ST) and Bangalore Central, election officials said.

The Congress was leading in six seats - Bidar, Davanagere, Bangalore South, Kolar (SC), Chamarajanagar and Mysore.

The JD-S was ahead in four seats - Hassan, Tumkur, Mandya and Bangalore Rural.

Counting was yet to begin in Chikkodi, Udupi-Chikkmagalur, Koppal and Bangalore North.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |