BJD MPs to vote against UPA, whip issued

July 20th, 2008 - 11:47 am ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Bharatiya Janata Party

Bhubaneswar, July 20 (IANS) Orissa’s ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Sunday said the party has issued a whip to its MPs to vote against the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government during the July 22 trust vote. “We have issued a whip asking our Lok Sabha members to vote against the UPA government,” Bhartruhari Mahatab, chief whip of the BJD in Lok Sabha, told IANS over telephone.

Mahatab, who is currently in the national capital, said the members have been asked to reach Delhi July 21 positively.

Orissa has 21 members in the lower house of the Indian parliament. Of them, the BJD has 11, its ally the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seven, the Congress has two and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha one.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |