Basu, Surjeet may continue as politburo members

March 28th, 2008 - 9:35 pm ICT by admin  

Coimbatore, March 28 (IANS) Ailing Marxist veterans Jyoti Basu and Harkishen Singh Surjeet are likely to continue in the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) politburo despite their pleas that they be dropped from the apex body. The 19th CPI-M party congress beginning here Saturday is likely to ask both the leaders to continue in the politburo and “issue advises and directions” on the basis of their vast experience, party sources said.

Neither Surjeet nor Basu will attend the congress - the first time since the party was formed in 1964.

According to politburo member Brinda Karat, Basu will greet the delegates and deliver a message through video-conferencing Saturday.

The party congress will also elect a new central committee and central control commission.

Although many of the 85-member central committee will remain as members, a few others are expected to be elected.

The party has not elected new members to the politburo since former Kerala chief minister E.K. Nayanar and West Bengal leaders Anil Biswas and Chittabrata Majumdar died.

Among the names taking rounds as new politburo members are Kerala Education Minister M.A. Baby, Local Development Minister Paloli Mohammed Kutty, Centre for Indian Trade Unions leader Mohammed Amin and Shyamal Chakraborty.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |