Bardhan re-elected CPI general secretary

March 27th, 2008 - 5:57 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, March 27 (IANS) A.B. Bardhan has been re-elected as the general secretary of Communist Party of India (CPI) for the fourth consecutive term at the party’s 20th national congress which concluded here Thursday. S. Sudhakar Reddy of Andhra Pradesh has been elected as deputy general secretary, an indication that he is being groomed to succeed Bardhan.

According to the party constitution, a person can hold the post for only four terms.

D. Raja, Gurudas Dasgupta, Nandagopal Bhattacharjee, C.K. Chandrappan, Shameem Faizee, Atul Kumar Anjan and Amarjeet Kaur are the other members of the secretariat.

The party congress elected a 138-member national council, of which 13 are candidate members. Bardhan told a news conference that 32 new members were elected to the body.

The council elected a 31-member national executive. Five new members were elected to the executive. Aziz Pasha of Andhra Pradesh, C. Divakaran of Kerala, B.K Kango of Maharashtra, Annie Raja, general secretary of National Federation of Indian Women (NFIW) and Pallab Sengupta of the international department of the party are the new faces.

The council also elected a nine-member central control commission with R. Nalla Kannu as the president and Ajay Chakraborthi as the secretary.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |