Anna helps ABVP defeat NSUI in Delhi varsity polls

September 10th, 2011 - 6:25 pm ICT by IANS  

Anna Hazare New Delhi, Sep 10 (IANS) The National Students Union of India (NSUI) Saturday snatched the president’s post of Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) but the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) swept the other three seats, crediting its victory to the Anna Hazare campaign.

For a second year in running, the ABVP won three of the four seats in what is considered a prestigious annual political battle in the capital.

Ajay Chhikara of NSUI, the student wing of the Congress, was elected the president, defeating Neha Singh of ABVP by 2,357 votes. Elections took place Friday in the university, one of the country’s biggest.

Vikas Choudhary of ABVP, which is allied to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, was elected vice-president. He defeated NSUI’s Bhupendra Chaudhary by 3,780 votes.

Vikas Yadav and Deepak Bansal, both from ABVP, won the posts of secretary and joint secretary respectively.

Yadav worsted NSUI’s Parag Sharma by 2,291 votes. Bansal had a 2,105-vote margin victory over NSUI’s Ashish Chaudhary.

The results sparked off celebrations in both the camps outside the office of Dean of Student Welfare in the campus.

Last year, the ABVP had won the DUSU presidency and two other posts — vice-president and secretary. The NSUI could bag only the post of joint secretary.

The ABVP credited the Anna Hazare campaign against corruption as one of the reasons why it won three seats.

“It is one of the factors why we won,” ABVP’s Vikas Yadav told IANS. Bhupendra Chaudhary of NSUI, who lost the vice-president’s post, admitted that the anti-corruption campaign did play a role.

Delhi University has 77 affiliated colleages spread all over the city, and a student population running into thousands.

–Indo-Asian News Serivce

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |