Andhra parties welcome by-poll schedule

April 24th, 2012 - 10:43 pm ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, April 24 (IANS) Political parties in Andhra Pradesh Tuesday welcomed the schedule announced by the Election Commission of India for by-elections in one Lok Sabha and 18 assembly constituencies.

The ruling Congress party said it was prepared to face the by-elections. State minister Basvaraj Saraiah exuded confidence that the party would win all the seats including Prakala assembly seat in Telangana region.

The main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) also hailed the poll schedule. Its leader N. Rajakumari was confident that the party would bag all the seats.

YSR Congress party also said it was sure of sweeping the bye-elections.

“Keeping up the tradition of maintaining a full electoral college before the presidential poll, Election Commission has announced the schedule and we welcome the June 12 by-polls. It goes without saying that YSRC will sweep the elections,” party spokesperson Ambati Rambabu said in a statement.

The Election Commission has announced that bye-elections to Nellore Lok Sabha and 18 assembly seats would be held on June 12. Counting of votes will be taken up on June 15.

Nellore Lok Sabha seat fell vacant due to resignation of Congress leader Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy, who switched loyalties to YSR Congress party leader Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy.

The bye-polls to 16 assembly seats are necessitated by disqualification of Congress rebels loyal to Jaganmohan Reddy. They all had voted against the government during the no-confidence motion in the assembly in December last year.

One seat fell vacant due to resignation of another Jagan loyalist Shoba Nagi Reddy of Praja Rajyam Party (PRP), which has now merged with the Congress party.

Tirupati assembly seat will also go to polls as actor-turned-politician K. Chiranjeevi has resigned following his election to the Rajya Sabha.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |