Akali Dal to honour seven MPs who voted against UPA

July 24th, 2008 - 8:26 pm ICT by IANS  

Chandigarh, July 24 (IANS) The ruling Akali Dal in Punjab Thursday announced that it will honour seven of the eight members of parliament (MPs) of the party who voted along the party line against the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government in the confidence motion in the Lok Sabha. “The Shiromani Akali Dal will honour those MPs, who in spite of the offer of huge consideration, have voted against the confidence motion in parliament honouring the decision of the party,” state Information and Public Relations Minister Bikram Singh Majithia said Thursday.

One Akali Dal MP, Sukhdev Singh Libra from the Ropar Lok Sabha seat, abstained in the trust vote, in violation of the party whip.

Libra was Wednesday expelled from primary membership of the party and the Akali Dal started proceedings to get him disqualified from the Lok Sabha.

Majithia criticized Libra’s decision to abstain in the trust vote, saying that the Akali Dal had bestowed on him the honour of being a legislator, a Rajya Sabha MP and a two-time Lok Sabha MP.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |