32 TDP legislators resign for Telangana state

September 28th, 2011 - 9:22 pm ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, Sep 28 (IANS) A total of 32 legislators of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) from Telangana Wednesday submitted their resignations to press the demand for separate statehood to the region.

After day-long deliberations, the legislators reached the assembly this evening and submitted their resignations to legislature secretary.

This is the second time in three months that TDP legislators have resigned. Their move is aimed at pressurising the legislators of ruling Congress to quit.

TDP leader E. Dayakar Rao told reporters that they submitted the resignation in the speaker’s format.

Except Gampa Goverdhan, who is reportedly planning to join Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), all legislators of TDP have submitted their resignations.

Four rebel legislators of TDP had already submitted their resignations last month along with all 11 legislators of TRS.

In July, over 100 legislators including 45 of Congress party had submitted their resignations, demanding separate Telangana state. Speaker N. Manohar, however, rejected all the resignations.

Telangana Joint Action Committee, which is spearheading Telangana movement, had asked all legislators from the region to again submit their resignations. TDP legislators offered to resign only after their counterparts from Congress submit their resignations.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |