29 debutants - who gets what (Lead, superseding earlier)

May 29th, 2009 - 12:15 am ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, May 28 (IANS) Among the 29 MPs who made their debut as central ministers, former Maharashtra chief minister Vilasrao Deshmukh of the Congress was made heavy industries and public enterprises minister, while former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah of the National Conference was given the new and renewable energy portfolio.
Former UN undersecretary general Shashi Tharoor of the Congress was made minister of state for external affairs.

Of the three first time women ministers - Agatha Sangma (Nationalist Congress Party), who is the youngest in the council of ministers, is the MoS in the rural development ministry, while Krishna Tirath is MoS (independent charge) in the women and child development ministry and Preneet Kaur is MoS external affairs. Tirath and Kaur are of the Congress.

The others are:

Mallikarjun Kharge - Congress is cabinet minister for labour and employment

M.K. Azhagiri - DMK is cabinet minister chemicals and fertilisers.

A. Sai Prathap - Congress is MoS steel

Gurudas Kamat - Congress is MoS communications and information technology

Mahadev Khandela - Congress MoS road transport and highways

Harish Rawat - Congress is MoS ministry of labour and employment

K.V. Thomas - Congress is MoS agriculture, consumer affairs and food and public distribution

Dinesh Trivedi - TMC is MoS health and family welfare

Sisir Adhikari - TMC MoS rural development

Sultan Ahmed - TMC MoS tourism

Mukul Roy - TMC MoS shipping

Mohan Jatua - TMC MoS information and broadcasting

D. Napoleon - DMK is Mos social justice and empowerment

S. Jagathrakshakan - DMK is MoS information and broadcasting

S. Gandhiselvan - DMK is MoS health and family welfare

Sachin Pilot - Congress is MoS communication and IT

Bharatsinh Solanki - Congress is MoS power

Tusharbhai Chaudhary - Congress is MoS tribal affairs

Arun Yadav - Congress is MoS youth affairs and sports

Prateek Prakashbapu Patil - Congress is MoS heavy industries and public enterprises

R.P.N Singh - Congress is MoS road transport and highways

Vincent Pala - Congress MoS water resources

Pradeep Jain - Congress MoS rural development

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |