TRS legislators suspended from Andhra assembly yet again

February 22nd, 2008 - 2:16 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, Feb 22 (IANS) The issue of separate statehood for the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh once again echoed in the state assembly Friday, leading to the suspension of all members of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) from the house for two days. The TRS members, who have been disrupting the proceedings since the beginning of the budget session early this month, once again stalled the house Friday demanding that the house adopt a resolution seeking separate statehood for the region.

As soon as the house met for the day, TRS members were on their feet demanding that their adjournment motion over the issue be taken up. As Speaker K.R. Suresh Reddy rejected the motion, TRS members rushed to his podium. Holding placards, they raised slogans of “Jai Telangana”.

Amid the pandemonium, the chair adjourned the house for 15 minutes. When the house re-assembled, TRS legislators refused to budge from their stand. As they continued to stall the house, Revenue Minister Dharmana Prasad Rao moved a resolution for their suspension for Friday and Monday. The resolution was passed with a voice vote.

Marshals were called to remove the 10 suspended members after they refused to leave the house.

The assembly was adjourned without transacting any business Thursday as the main opposition Telugu Desam Party, TRS and other opposition parties did not allow the proceedings due to various reasons.

This is the fourth time during the budget session that TRS members were suspended from the assembly

They were suspended for two days Feb 19 and for three days Feb 15.

Earlier, they were also suspended Feb 13 for five days but their suspension was revoked following an appeal by the opposition parties.

The TRS had 26 members in 294-member assembly but 10 members revolted against the party leadership a year ago.

The party, which has three members in the council, has already given an ultimatum to the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the centre that if it failed to initiate the process for formation of separate Telangana by March 6, all its members of parliament and state legislature would resign.

The TRS, which had fought the 2004 elections in alliance with the Congress, alleged that the latter had gone back on its promise to grant separate statehood to Telangana region, which comprises 10 districts of Andhra Pradesh, including Hyderabad.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |