17 senior bureaucrats reshuffled

February 19th, 2008 - 9:00 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Feb 19 (IANS) The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet Tuesday approved appointments of 17 Indian Administration Service (IAS) officers to various departments of the government. Prominent among those who were transferred or promoted was B.K. Sinha, appointed as director general of the Hyderabad-based National Institute of Rural Development from his present post as additional secretary in the ministry of Panchayati Raj.

Sudhir Krishna, at present posted as additional secretary, will replace Sinha.

G. Balachandran, a joint secretary in the ministry of environment and forests, was appointed chief executive officer of the Food Safety & Standards Authority while Ajay Bhattacharya, a joint secretary in the department of animal husbandry, goes as administrator in the Universal Service Obligation Fund in the department of telecommunications.

Pradeep K. Deb was upgraded to the post of executive director in the Manila-based Asian Development Bank.

Other appointments include Loretta Mary Vas as additional secretary in the department of economic affairs, ministry of finance, and Viswapati Trivedi promoted as joint chairman cum managing director of the National Aviation Company of India.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |