156 in fray for 11 Karnataka seats in April 30 polls

April 13th, 2009 - 10:23 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Bangalore, April 13 (IANS) Former prime minister and Janata Dal-Secular president H.D. Deve Gowda, state Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief D.V. Sadanada Gowda and Kannada actor and union minister M.H. Ambareesh are among the 156 candidates left in the fray for the second phase of elections to be held in Karnataka April 30.
Monday was the last day for withdrawal of nominations for the 11 seats. In the first phase April 23, voting will take place in 17 constituencies.

Deve Gowda is seeking re-election from his home constituency of Hassan, Sadananda Gowda is contesting from Udupi and Congress nominee Ambareesh from Mandya.

Other prominent personalities in the poll battle are Congress nominees and former union minister Janardhana Poojary from Dakshina Kannada and former chief minister S. Bangarappa on his home turf of Shimoga.

Bangarappa is taking on B.Y. Raghavendra, son of Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa. This is Raghavendra’s first outing in the Lok Sabha polls. Raghavendra is fighting on a BJP ticket.

Other constituencies going to the polls in the second phase are Bagalkot, Haveri, Dharwad, Davangere, Mysore and Chamarajnagar.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |