15 separatist leaders’ detention under PSA revoked

January 16th, 2009 - 9:59 pm ICT by IANS  

Jammu, Jan 16 (IANS) The Jammu and Kashmir government Friday evening revoked the detention of 15 Public Safety Act (PSA) detenus from radical groups such as Hurriyat Conference, Tehreek-e-Hurriyat and JKLF with immediate effect, a spokesman of the government said. He said: “This follows Chief Minister Omar Abdullah’s recent statement at a press conference in which he said that the government was actively considering the release of the PSA detenus. On his orders, the government today revoked detention of 15 PSA detenus.”

According to him, the detenus whose detention has been revoked Friday are Parvaz Ahmad Bhat, Nissar Ahmad Najar, Abdul Rashid Naikoo, Ghulam Mohammad Khan alias Khan Sopori, Zafar Khurshid Mirza, Bashir Ahmad Indrabi, Tariq Ahmad Shah, Mohammad Akbar Khanday alias Ayaz Akbar, Showkat Ahmad Hakeem, Rashid Abdullah Bhat, Noor Mohammad Kalwal, Ghulam Rasool Dar, Ghulam Ahmad Dar, Nissar Hussain Rather, and Ashiq Hussain Sofi.

Most of these leaders were associated with Hurriyat Conference, Tehreek-e-Hurriyat and JKLF. They were lodged in Kot Bhalwal, Kathua and Udhampur jails.

Earlier, a screening committee had reviewed their cases.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |