Dickens Inheritance (To go with Dickensian debate: Is Charles still as relevant after 200 years)

February 6th, 2012 - 4:51 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Feb 6 (IANS) Charles Dickens was a prolific writer, who serialised his novels and interspersed it with short stories… A walk through his bibliography.

The Pickwick Papers (Serialised during 1836-1837)
The Adventures of Oliver Twist (1837 to 1839)
The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby (1838-1839)
The Old Curiosity Shop (1840-1841)
Barnaby Rudge: The Tale of the Riots of the Eighties (1841)
A Christmas Carol (1843)
The Life and Adventures of Martin Chuzzlewit (1843-1844)
The Chimes (1844)
The Cricket on the Hearth (1845)
The Battle of Life (1846)
Dombey and Son (1846-1848)
The Haunted Man and the Ghost’s Bargain (1848)
David Copperfield (1849-1850)
Bleak House (1852)
Hard Times: For These Times (1854)
Little Dorrit (1855-1857)
All the Year Round (1859)
Great Expectations (1860-1861)
Our Mutual Friend (1864-1865)
The Mystery of Edwin Drood (1870)

Short Stories
“Sunday Under Three Heads” (1836)
“The Lamplighter” (1838)
The Sewer-Dwelling Reptile (1841)
A Child’s Dream of a Star (1850)
Captain Murderer (1850)
To be Read at Duck (1852)
The Long Voyage (1853)
Prince Bull (1855)
Thousand and One Humbugs (1955)
Hunted Down (1859)
The Signal Man (1866)
George Silverman’s Explanation (1868)
Holiday Romance (1868)
A volume of Christmas Stories (1850-1865)

Movies based on Charles Dicken’s books

Over the last nine decades since the black and white era of silent
cinema, many of his books have been adapted into movies. Some iconic
Dickens movies:

“Oliver!” is a 1968 British musical film directed by Carol Reed based
on Charles Dickens classic “Oliver Twist”

“Twist” based on Charles Dickens by Matthew Parkhill (2012- production stage)

“Oliver Twist” in 1948 by David Lean

“Great Expectations” in 1946 by David Lean based on Dickens’ novel

“Great Expectations” in 2012 (production stage) by Mike Newell

“A Tale of Two Cities” in 1935 by Jack Conway

“Mystery of Edwin Drood” in 1935 by Stuart Walker

“Jo The Crossing Sweeper” in 1918 based on Dickens’ “Bleak House” by
Alexander Butler

“Dombey And Son” in 1919 by Maurice Elvey

“Little Dorrit” in 1920 by Sidney Morgan

“The Right to be Happy” in 1916 based on A Christmas Carol by Rupert Julian

“The Old Curiosity Shop” in 1921 by Thomas Bentley

“David Copperfield” in 1935 by George Cukor

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Life Style |