Kalyan-Dombivali Election Results Are Out

November 1st, 2010 - 9:31 pm ICT by GD  

By Meena Kar
rajt1Nov 1, (THAINDIAN NEWS) The KDMC Election result 2010 of the twin cities, Kalyan and Dombivali has been declared this afternoon. The election held on October 31, was competed by Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, Shiv Sena, BJP, Congress and National Congress Party.

The election results created a history, although it was not completely unpredictable. Raj Thackeray-led Maharashtra Navnirman Sena got an impressive number of 26 seats, which was quite expected. However, it was Shiv Sena and BJP alliance that secured the maximum number of seats. They bagged 40 of the 107 seats while Shiv Sena receiving 31 of them, while BJP got 9. National Congress Party and Congress together secured 30 seats, with each one getting 15. Independent contenders could secure only 11 seats. However, 54 seats were required to claim the majority. As no one could bag that, a new speculation is going on about who would be the new Mayor. Raj Thackeray had announced that the new mayor may be from his party, although nothing is settled.

This election was a matter of ego between MNS chief Raj Thackeray and his uncle Bal Thackeray, the Shiv Sena chief. Considering the past disputes between the two parties, high security arrangement were made at the Dombivali sports Complex, to avoid any political disputes or violence between the two parties after the counting. The matter also took a serious turn when the police found a few leaders in Kalyan Dombivali, who were outsiders. Police immediately asked Ram Kadam MNS MLA of Ghatkopar; Ramesh Walanj MNS MLA from Pune; Eknath Shinde, Shiv Sena leader and Sanjeev Naik, MP of NCP to leave the place to avoid any possible violence.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in India, Politics |