Zardari sworn in as 12th Pak President

September 9th, 2008 - 3:35 pm ICT by ANI  

Islamabad, Sep 9 (ANI): Asif Ali Zardari has been sworn in as 12th president of Pakistan at a ceremony in Islamabad here on Tuesday.

Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar administered the oath of office to Zardari.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Bakhtawar Bhutto Zardari, Asifa Bhutto Zardari and Benazir’’s sister Sanam Bhutto were also present during the ceremony.

Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, members of the federal cabinet, Chairman Senate, Speaker National Assembly, Army chief, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee, three services chiefs, governors and chief ministers of four provinces, heads of political parties, members of parliament, foreign diplomats and civil and military bureaucrats attended the ceremony.

Afghan President Hamid Karzai was also present on this occasion who was invited specially by Zardari.

PML-N president and Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif and other central leaders were also present on this occasion.

Maulana Fazal-ur-Rehman, Asfandyar Wali and Aftab Sherpao also attended the ceremony, The News reported. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |