Zardari elected 11th President of Pakistan

September 6th, 2008 - 5:27 pm ICT by ANI  

Islamabad, Sept 6 (ANI): Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) co-chairman, Asif Ali Zardari has been elected as the 11 th President of the Pakistan.

Zardari was elected through a secret ballot by the two chambers of its Parliament, the National Assembly and Senate, and the four Provincial Assemblies.

The other contestants in the Presidential election were Justice Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui of Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) and Mushahid Hussain Syed of Pakistan Muslim League- Quaid (PML-Q).

The Electoral College for the Presidential election, comprising of members from both the Houses, Senate and National Assembly, cast their votes to elect the President at the Parliament House.

Chief Election Commissioner, Justice Qazi Muhammad Farooq conducted the proceedings as Returning Officer for election to the office of the President.

Meanwhile, security across Pakistan has been beefed up as the newly elected President is expected to take oath today. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |