Yedyurappa resigns as Karnataka Chief Minister (Lead-Karnataka Political Crisis)

November 19th, 2007 - 7:32 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, Nov 18 (ANI): BS Yedyurappa on Monday evening resigned from the post of Karnataka Chief Minister, hours after coalition partner J D (S) announced to vote against the government in the crucial confidence motion in the Vidhan Soudha.
Yedyurappa, who had taken the oath as the Chief Minister of the State a week ago, submitted his resignation letter to Governor Rameshwar Thakur even before taking the floor test. After tendering his resignation, Yedyurappa said he was ‘cheated’ by the BJP leadership, not once but twice.
BJP president Rajnath Singh termed the JD (S) decision as a ‘betrayal’, and said that it was former Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy who decided to give them an ‘unconditional’ support for forming the next government in the State after President’s rule was invoked in the State.
“After their assurances, the BJP was ready to form the government in Karnataka. I think the JD (S) has again betrayed BJP,” Singh said.
A shocked BJP in Delhi has given indication that the party is ready to face mid-term polls in the State, and would try to highlight the twice betrayal by the JD (S).
This is the second time since October the JD (S) has pulled the rug under the feats of the BJP.
A month ago, on October 7, the BJP had to withdraw its support from the coalition after the JD (S) failed to live up with its promise to hand over the power to Yeddyurappa as per the agreement reached between the two-parties twenty months ago.
With no party ready to form the government in the State, Centre rule was imposed on Governor Rameshwar Thakur’s recommendation.
However, the BJP-JD (S) short lived ‘divorce’ came to an end within a fortnight, after JD (S) leader H D Kumaraswamy, gave a letter to the Governor confirming his party’s ‘unconditional’ support to the BJP.
This led the BJP, close on leading a South Indian State for the first time, to demand revoking of the President’s rule in the State. Though the Governor was not convinced about the stability of the next BJP-JD (S) coalition, the Centre’s rule was revoked paving the way for Yeddyurappa to form the next government in the State.
In the present State Assembly, the BJP has the highest number of legislators with 79 MLAs, followed by the Congress with 65 MLAs, which excludes the eight other members led by former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who broke away from the JD (S) to join the Congress.
Kumaraswamy led JD (S) has officially 57 members in the legislature, but its strength is down to 48 after Siddaramaiah’s defection.
The smaller parties and independents only add to 17 in the 224-member Assembly.
But after J D (S) supremo and former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda today announced opposing the government in the floor test by alleging that many things were going on Yeddyurappa’s mind, it became clear that the BJP was again taken for a ride by the JD (S).
The BJP did not heed to the J D (S) demand of signing the 12-point MoU that would have led to the former parting away from the crucial portfolios in the next cabinet. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |