Yeddiyurappa to be sworn in as Karnataka CM

November 14th, 2007 - 10:30 am ICT by admin  

The swearing ceremony will be held at 12 noon.

Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha L K Advani, BJP President Rajnath Singh, and other leaders M Venkaiah Naidu, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley will attend the ceremony.

None from the Janta Dal-Secular (JD-S) will take oath along with Yeddiyurappa.

Ministers belonging to the JD-S — 18 in all, including Deputy Chief Minister — will take oath at one go after the Government wins vote of confidence on November 15.

The Ministry will be expanded after the combine proves its majority on the floor of the assembly.

On Friday, Governor Rameshwar Thakur invited Yeddiyurappa, who has been elected BJP-JD (S) joint legislature party leader, to form the government.

The Union Cabinet on Thursday decided to revoke President’s rule in Karnataka and revive the Assembly, which had been kept under suspended animation.

The President’s rule was imposed in the State on October 9 after BJP withdrew its support from its coalition with the JD (S) due to differences over transfer of Chief Ministership as per the power-sharing agreement.

Three weeks after a bitter public spat, both parties came together deciding to form the next coalition in the State under Yeddiyurappa’s leadership. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |