V. Vaidhilingam sworn-in as Puducherry CM

September 4th, 2008 - 3:31 pm ICT by ANI  

Puducherry, Sept 4 (ANI): V. Vaidhilingam was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Puducherry here today. This is his second stint as the State CM, the first being 1991-96.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Raj Bhawan.

Lt. Governor Govind Singh Gurjar administered the oath of office and secrecy to him along with five other ministers — E. Valslaraj, Shahjahan, Malladikrishnarao, Kandasamy and Namasivayam.

The need for the formation of the new ministry arose after N Rangasamy stepped down as Chief Minister on August 28, following sustained revolt by a majority of the ten Congress legislators, including five ministers of his six-member cabinet, against him.

AICC Secretary In-charge of Puducherry Arun Kumar, Union Minister V. Narayansamy and PCC president A.V. Subramanian, besides leaders of various political parties and senior officials, were present on the occasion. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |