Trinamool defeats CPM in Bishanpur assembly bypoll

March 1st, 2009 - 4:38 pm ICT by ANI  

Kolkata, Mar 1 (ANI): Giving a fresh jolt to the ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM) in West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress on Sunday wrested the Bishanpur (West) assembly seat from the Left Front by a huge margin in a byelection.

The bypoll was held on February 26, in which 82 percent voters cast their votes.

Madan Mitra of the Trinamool Congress Secured 85,335 votes and he defeated his CPM rival Iskandar Hossain by 30,395 votes.

After this bypoll election, the verdict is also likely to strengthen the clamour for an alliance between the Congress and Trinamool Congress for the upcoming elections.

Keshav Rao, the Congress Party General Secretary in charge of the state, is in Kolkata to discuss a possible tie-up with the Trinamool.

The bypoll was conducted in the wake of the death of CPM leader Rathin Sarkar. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |