Trinamool Congress wins Nandigram assembly by-election

January 9th, 2009 - 3:04 pm ICT by ANI  

Nandigram, Jan 9 (ANI): Trinamool Congress candidate Firoza Bibi won the politically sensitive Nandigram assembly by-election by 39,551 votes.
Firoza Bibi defeated CPI nominee Paramananda Bharati.
Elections for the seat, which fell vacant after the resignation of CPI MLA Muhammad Ilyas following a sting operation, which exposed his involvement in a corruption case, were held on January 5. Counting was taken up today.
The by-poll was first scheduled to be held on December 30, but was postponed due to security considerations.
Six candidates contested the by-poll. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |