Telengana Rashtra Samiti MPs resign from Lok Sabha

March 3rd, 2008 - 2:58 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Mar 3 (ANI): Four Telengana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) MPs today resigned from Lok Sabha over separate Telangana issue.
TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao and three of his colleagues - Vinod Kumar, Ravindra Naik and T Madhusudan Reddy - submitted their resignation to Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee.
All walked out after submitting their resignation. Later, the BJP and the Shiv Sena also staged walk out on the matter.
Before submitting the resignation, Chandrashekhar alleged that their demand on the issue has not been fulfilled, although consensus had emerged.
The people of Telangana have been betrayed, he said.
Leader of the Opposition L.K. Advani also said that there should be a debate on the issue of carving separate state of Telangana in Andhra Pradesh.
Earlier, Advani had said that the BJP is ready to extend its support for a separate state as it believes that new states can be carved out of the bigger states in order to speed up development.
The TRS, contested state assembly polls in 2004 in alliance with the Congress, which they feel has betrayed the promise to grant separate statehood to Telangana region, comprising 10 districts of Andhra Pradesh, including Hyderabad. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |